Something To Aspire Too

Tundra in Dark Brown Leather and Navajo Fabric

Tundra in Dark Brown Leather and Navajo Fabric by Hoakonhelga

I was reading this article earlier today on the Etsy Blog in their Quit Your Day Job series. The article was about Andi of Hoakonhelga. It really reinforced an idea for me that I’ve been struggling with, being unique.

Whilst in brick and mortar stores or online ones, most bags I see are made from one type of material, but Andi not only recycles materials, but mixes the type of materials she uses in her bag creations. For instance like this “Tundra in Dark Brown Leather and Navajo Fabric” (pictured on the right) is made from a vintage leather jacket and a Navajo blanket. Something that I find quite unique and is obviously a strong selling point for her.

Whilst I made the decision to create jewellery from sterling silver and semi-precious stones, to have the selling point of using higher quality materials compared to costume jewellery that uses silver-plated materials. I still don’t feel I am offering potential buyers something unique. The difficult point for me is to know what buyers like or want, as I’m not getting the sales in that I can look at my stock and say that type of item is selling and that isn’t. Another way I can try to find that type of information is via item views and items that have been favourited.

Top 6 Items Based On Sales & Views

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Dark Amethyst, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Dark Amethyst, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Cascade Necklace, Green Agate, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Cascade Necklace, Green Agate, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Rose Quartz, Mauve Quartz, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Rose Quartz & Mauve Quartz

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Light Amethyst Nugget, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Light Amethyst Nugget, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Black Agate, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Wire Wrapped, Trefoil Shape

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Black Agate, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Trefoil Shape

Sterling Silver Necklace, Light Sapphire Swarovski Crystal Star Pendant, Light Sapphire Swarovski Crystal, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Necklace, Light Sapphire Swarovski Crystal Star Pendant, Wire Wrapped


Top 6 Items Based On Favourites/Likes

Sterling Silver Cascade Necklace, Green Agate, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Cascade Necklace, Green Agate, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Rose Quartz, Mauve Quartz, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Rose Quartz & Mauve Quartz

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Light Amethyst Nugget, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Light Amethyst Nugget

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Black Agate, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Wire Wrapped, Trefoil Shape

Sterling Silver Pendant Necklace, Black Agate, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Trefoil Shape

Sterling Silver Necklace, Golden Jade

Sterling Silver Necklace, Golden Jade

Sterling Silver Necklace, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Jade Green Glass, Wire Wrapped

Sterling Silver Necklace, Clear Swarovski Crystal, Jade Green Glass, Wire Wrapped




Even though I currently have a small sample of data to work with, it appears that pendants and semi-precious stones are favoured over necklaces, earrings, bracelets and glass/crystal stones. However, that still doesn’t help me identify what can help make me unique, and allow me to stand out from other sellers. I can foresee that it’s going to take me quite some time to figure out my niche area is, and therefore to find my uniqueness in order to differentiate myself from other sellers making and selling similar items to myself.

Leave a Reply

